Latest Story

Apply now for the 2014 CSPA Journalism Workshop

Apply now for the 2014 CSPA Journalism Workshop

Want to learn the fundamentals of newswriting? Maintain a blog? Shoot and edit photos? Produce a newscast? Sharpen deadline skills? Learn from working professionals? There’s only one place to do it all, and more.

The California Scholastic Press Association will hold its 63rd-annual high school journalism workshop on the campus of Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo, on July 13-25, 2014.

The 2014 application is available by clicking here. Tuition, which includes 13 days of instruction, all meals, an on-campus dorm room and transportation to all workshop activities, is $1,275 for those who apply by April 1, then $1,400 after April 1. No money is due until acceptance to the workshop. The application deadline is April 18.

The CSPA Workshop is the longest-running and most successful high school journalism workshop in the country. Our graduates have gone on to work for the Los Angeles Times, the Orange County Register, Forbes, The Associated Press, ESPN, CBS, Fox and other nationally recognized media outlets.

Each summer, 25 students are selected to receive hands-on instruction in the areas of print, broadcast, online and photo journalism, plus classes in ethics, public records and more. They will tour the local newspaper office and television station and enjoy an afternoon at the beach.

Our students work under intense deadlines but also thrive and improve under the direction of our all-volunteer staff of instructors, and they get a taste of college life and make lifelong friends.

CSPA Workshop in photos

CSPA celebrates 24 graduates of Class of 2013


They covered a murder trial and a natural disaster, wrote news, reviews, sports and much more. They shot photos, printed a newspaper, produced a broadcast and learned how to report using Facebook and Twitter.

The 24 students of the 2013 California Scholastic Press Association Journalism Workshop did it all, and did it well. They completed more than 30 assignments under strict deadlines and, on July 26, they graduated from the program during a ceremony on the campus of Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo, CSPA’s annual home.

For 13 days, the students received in-depth instruction from an all-volunteer staff of working professionals from the areas of journalism (print, broadcast online and photo), public relations and education.

In honor of its founders, the CSPA annually presents the Ralph and Millie Alexander Awards to the male and female students who best exemplify the ideals of the workshop, both inside and outside the classroom. The students who accumulate the most points on assignments are also recognized at graduation.

Read more »

Final preparations for 62nd workshop underway

Final preparations for 62nd workshop underway

Our 24 students have been selected, our schedule has been set and we’re excited to get the 62nd-annual California Scholarship Press Association Journalism Workshop started on July 14 on the campus of Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo.

Our all-volunteer staff of professional journalists and educators is ready for 13 days of instruction and fun, and our 2013 class of students is smart and diverse. As usual, Southern California and Northern California are well-represented, and we will also have students coming in from the north (Washington) and southeast (Florida).

Here’s a look at our two-week schedule, which includes a strong mix of old-school journalism fundamentals, plus instruction in the latest news-gathering and distribution techniques. Our students will write, blog, take photos and videos, produce their own newspaper and telecast and also visit the local newspaper office, television studio and public-records center. They’ll even get an afternoon at the beach.

Read more »

What Alumni Say

I found that I learned an immense amount about journalism in two short weeks … I would not trade the friendships or the memories I made there for anything.
Crystie McIntyreworkshop 1988

CSPA Blogger: Author, Author!

Notorious OC by Larry WelbornMystery novels. Children's books. Biographies. Literary essays.  CSPA -- and its predecessor, the SSA -- has a long list of alumni who have successfully turned their passion for writing into one or more published books.

To read the complete list of alumni authors, click on this link or scroll down to access the complete CSPA Workshop blog.