Current workshop instructors include the following:

Jay Berman is a freelance writer, reporter, editor and former journalism professor at Cal State Fullerton.

Chris Carlson is a staff photographer for the Associated Press, and has been the dean of CSPA’s photo curriculum since 1993.

Mike Daughtery (1969) is a middle school teacher, and a founder of a public relations, marketing and advertising company in Uganda, Africa.

Jessica Davis (2003) is the digital director for Gannett’s Tennessee newspapers. She was formerly the digital director for video at the Los Angeles News Group and a writer for and City News Service.

Nicole Fisher (2009) is an assistant editor at Sterling Publishing in New York, overseeing books published by Hearst.

Mary Glick is the chair of the journalism department at Cal Poly San Luis Obispo. She was formerly the associate director of the American Press Institute.

Saba Hamedy (2008) is a reporter for CNN Politics and the co-writer of “The Point” newsletter with Chris Cillizza. She formerly covered film, television and digital entertainment for the Los Angeles Times and Mashable.

Rich Hammond (1994) is a sportswriter for the Orange County Register, covering the Los Angeles Rams. He was formerly the deputy sports editor of the Los Angeles Daily News and a beat writer for

Matt Hanlon (2008) is a cinematographer with Threaded Films. He was formerly a reporter for the Orange County Register.

Todd Harmonson (1985) is the senior editor of the Orange County Register, a former sportswriter and sports editor, and a former columnist at the South Bay Daily Breeze.

Scott Harris (1973), a freelance reporter based in Hong Kong, is a former columnist for the Los Angeles Times and reporter for the San Jose Mercury News.

Steve Harvey (1962) is a former columnist for the Los Angeles Times and sports writer for the Los Angeles Herald-Examiner.

Cam Inman (1988) is the San Francisco 49ers beat reporter for the Bay Area News Group.

Josh Kaplan (1976) is the senior executive producer for “Good Day LA,” Fox 11’s morning news show in Los Angeles.

Evann Gastaldo (1994) is the managing editor of Newser.

Michelle Madigan (1996) is a producer at NBC’s “Dateline.”

Kim Minugh (1999) is a teacher in the San Juan Unified School District. She was formerly a police reporter and K-12 education reporter at The Sacramento Bee.

Laura Nelson (2007) is a staff writer for the Los Angeles Times. She shared in the newspaper’s Pulitzer Prize for Breaking News Reporting in 2016.

Fred Schoemehl is the editor of the Tombstone Epitaph. He is the former editor of the Costa Mesa Daily Pilot.

Daniel Thigpen is a communication specialist in the San Juan Unified School District and a former reporter with The Record in Stockton.

Nicole Vargas (1995) is a San Diego State University lecturer and internship coordinator. Formerly, she was a reporter and multimedia producer at the San Diego Union-Tribune and a reporter at the Riverside Press-Enterprise.

Larry Welborn (1965) is the chairman emeritus of the CSPA Board of Directors and the retired legal affairs reporter for the Orange County Register.

Last updated: Jan. 3, 2018