The new Kansas High School Journalist of the Year is a CSPA graduate

A 2016 graduate of the California Scholastic Press Association workshop has been named Kansas High School Journalist of the Year and will compete this spring for national honors against other top student journalists from around the country.
Daisy Bolin, a senior at Shawnee Mission East High School in Prairie Village, Kan., is the fourth CSPA graduate in the past four years to win Journalist of the Year honors at the state level.
Bolin was one of the top students at the 2016 workshop and won the Millie Alexander Award for all-around excellence. She is the head copy editor for her high school publication, The Harbinger.
The three most recent National High School Journalists of the Year are CSPA alumni. Meghan Bobrowsky and Kellen Browning of California won in 2017 and 2016, respectively, and Julia Poe of Kansas won in 2015.
Bobrowsky and Browning are expected to be counselors at this year’s workshop, which will be held for a 67th consecutive year on the campus of Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo.
The workshop will run from July 8-20 and applications are open.