CSPA adds 26 to family

The 61st-annual California Scholastic Press Association Journalism Workshop ended July 27, as all 26 students participated in the graduation ceremonies at Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo, and celebrated 13 days of work and fun.

Alec Lautanen of Mira Costa High School in Manhattan Beach received the Ralph Alexander Award while Jess Faunt of Cleveland High School in Portland received the Millie Alexander Award. The awards, voted on by workshop instructors and counselors, annually honor CSPA’s founders.

Lautanen also accumulated the most points (2,409) as he and his classmates completed approximately 35 workshop assignments. Matthew Chow (2,401), Joyce Kim (2,396), Elana Zeltser (2,389) and Faunt (2,388) were also in the top five in total points.

During the workshop, students took classes in news writing, editorial writing, sportswriting, reviews, column writing and other aspects of print journalism. They learned about public relations and how to access public records. They shot photos, produced a four-page newspaper, taped a television broadcast and maintained their own blogs. They took trips to the local television station and newspaper office and enjoyed an afternoon at the beach.

Most importantly, the students learned skills that will benefit them for decades to come, and made lifelong friends.

(photo by Larry Welborn)

Published by Nicole Vargas

Assistant professor, Digital Journalism, San Diego City College; Adviser, City Times Media - City Times digital news, CTTV/Newscene, City Times Sound radio and podcast, Legend magazine and Indy Film